Sheela-na-Gig aka Jeanne Rathbone

Back from Ireland.

Posted in Uncategorized by sheelanagigcomedienne on November 18, 2010

It was great meeting the young atheists/Humanists and witnessing the changes in attitudes in Ireland. HOWEVER, it was no surprise that those joining groups ARE predominantly male. We had interesting discussions. I am as convinced as ever that atheist groups are very limited in their appeal.

How about ATHEISM IS ABOUT TRUTH but HUMANISM IS ABOUT GOODNESS AND HAPPINESS.

I still conclude that tackling the power of the religious stranglehold in Ireland MUST begin with challenging CHRISTENING /COMMUNION and CATHOLIC SCHOOLS.  It is the non-believing women who need to persuade mothers/other women that BABIES SHOULD NOT  BE EXORCISED/CHRISTENED.

The other concern that emerged was the atheist students who wish to become teachers. Again they need a campaign to confront the powers that be and take their case to the Eurpean Court. It will be a long haul. I wish them all the luck and energy in their quest for justice and equality against the tide of the power of religion, superstition and tradition. Now is the time for change and reassessment as Ireland goes deeper into the mire economically. The corrupt politicians, backed by a conservative colluding church and the gombeen gurriers of  bankers, property developers and crooked deals cannot continue. Ireland lost its decency and morality and needs to find its way again. It is the students with integrity and honesty who are challenging the old ways and they need to continue that when they leave University. Lets hope that we don’t again lose them to emigration – the Irish curse.

In Cork I met a young man Aaron who said I was the first humanist he encountered! He is intending to start a Humanist group in the city. I am glad that it not just confined to students as I believe that it would be better if these groups were NOT confined to students. They would attract greater numbers and have more clout.

I don’t think I will be doing any more gigs over there or here. I have decided that I will just do some u tube clips instead as it is easier and far less tiring. I reckon my gigging days are over. I am old, you know but it was fun. COMEDY is definitely a young persons game.

Leave a Reply

