Sheela-na-Gig aka Jeanne Rathbone

Michael D. Higgins for President of Ireland

Posted in Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland by sheelanagigcomedienne on October 26, 2011

Michael D Higgins

MICHAEL D. HIGGINS  is one of the seven candidates standing for the Presidency of Ireland and would be getting my first preference vote, if I had one and which I think I should have.  My second preference would have gone to Mary Davis who is carrying on the tradition and unwritten rule that women Presidents  and candidates of Ireland can only  be successful if they are called MARY!

I was at college in Galway at the same time As Michael D and we both served on the same Literary and Debating Society committee in 63-64. I had reminisced about these times on my blog post Jeanne – the early years.

“I was winner of the “Gibs” ( first years)  public speaking contest expounding on the exaulted topic of Jamjars and was co-opted onto the committee of the Literary and Debating Society. Michael D Higgins was a fellow member and he went on to become a government minister responsible for culture.  At the inaugural dinner of this committee the Guest of Honour  was a young “disc jockey” called TERRY WOGAN and I recall one colleague complaining and wondering  why the hell a fellow who plays records on radio was GUEST OF HONOUR . That same night I was acting in two Yeats one-act plays ‘Purgatory’ and ‘Words upon the window- pane’. I had to get my parents to come to collect me from the theatre to take to me to the Sacre Couer Hotel for said dinner. I had to change, (aided by Doc Doherty-  a flamboyant student) in the car into the evening dress borrowed from my friend Kathryn Lydon. I recall little else except the voice of the Lady Dean, Ma  O’Driscoll, declare that Jeanne Egan was to be given no more wine.”

Michael D. Higgins – The President who will do us proud » Home Page

His wiki entry shows that he served as Vice Auditor of the College’s Literary and Debating Society in 1963–1964, he rose to the position of Auditor in the 1964–1965 academic year. He also served as President of UCG Students’ Union in 1964–65. Before entering politics he worked as Statutory Lecturer in Political Science and Sociology at University College Galway (UCG) and Visiting Professor at the Southern Illinois University.

He is the subject of the song “Michael D. Rocking in the Dáil” by popular Tuam band The Saw Doctors.  which is like appearing on The Muppet Show in terms of recognition and acclaim.

Michael D was heartily supported by his ‘dear friend’ Martin Sheen who maintains links with Galway having studied there. He had himself declined an invitation to stand a s a presidential candidate. (Sheen joked that he would be the “oldest undergraduate” at the National University of Ireland (NUI), Galway, when he started his full-time studies there in the autumn of 2006 to read English literature, philosophy and theology in Ireland ‘where my late mother came from and where I’m also a citizen.” Although expressing concern that he might be a “distraction” to other students at NUIG, he attended lectures like everyone else. Sheen was among the first to register as a student at NUI Galway.

Sometime in the eighties our MP Alf Dubs came to Ireland and visited us at the cottage and he mentioned to me that he had met Michael D in Nicaragua and would like to meet him again. So, I organised a meeting with Michael D only to have Alf cancel because he and Ann had decided to cut short their holiday due to the rain in Conemara! I was somewhat exasperated by this at the time.

I WISH MICHAEL D  ALL THE BEST OF LUCK in his bid to become the most senior statesperson in Ireland as  Uachtarán na hÉireann

Leave a Reply

