Sheela-na-Gig aka Jeanne Rathbone

Ms epetition campaign response from HSBC

Posted in Banks, Financial Institutions, HSBC, Ms should be the default female title., Usurers by sheelanagigcomedienne on February 2, 2012

I emailed my bank HSBC about Ms being the default title for women.

Dear Madam/Sir,
I could find no other email address to make a general complaint to HSBC which is my bank about their discriminatory application form.

I am a long standing customer of HSBC. I have recently taken out an epetition that MS SHOULD BE THE ONLY TITLE FOR WOMEN. I believe that the 3 options forced upon women is discriminatory and archaic and that Ms should be the default title.Ms should be the ONLY title for women. – epetitions

As part of this campaign I am writing to organisations that I have been involved with to ask them to change their forms and only offer the default Ms for women customers.
I am recording the responses.

Yours sincerely,

Jeanne Rathbone 

I received a written reply which means that they looked up my details.

Mr David J Fennell, Senior Service Quality Officer, HSBC claims that ‘many of the bank’s female customers want the choice of title, therefore those that wish to be titled as Ms will be, and those that prefer Miss or Mrs can use those’.

‘The bank would not wish to dictate or put restrictions on any of our female customers’. 

I wonder when they last did a poll/questionnaire on this. I certainly never received one. He is still missing the point. No one is stopping those who insist on being addressed as Miss or Mrs from doing so. All I am asking that there is parity between men and women with Ms the default title for women and Mr for men for those institutions that insist on having titles. Many organisations do NOT have such a requirement any longer. So, do they really think that they are being kind, considerate and courteous to their female customers?

I shall pursue this with them and other finacial institutions/usurers which hold my savings.  I urge those of you who also feel irritated and demeaned by this issue to please write to any financial institutions/banks/surers to do likewise. I would love to hear from you if you do.

I got this email but is abc@defg real methinks not..

abc@defg.com commented on Ms epetition campaign response from HSBC

Well done to Mr David J Fennell, Senior Service Quality Officer, HSBC. I am a Miss and if I wasn’t allowed to use it on a drop down screen I wouldn’t deal with that company. I am single and proud of it. I know exactly who and what I am, unlike these feminist lesbians who are unsure of their status.

What does Ms mean anyway? is it short for anything like all the other titles? I am always highly offended if I am addressed as Ms.

All I can say is ‘get a life’, there are far more important things to petition about

Leave a Reply

